D-Bah Boardriders Win Back-To-Back Volcom Kirra Teams Challenge Titles

Sunday, 24 February 2013

D-Bah Boardriders are the undisputed kings of Australian boardriding after winning back-to-back Volcom Kirra Teams Challenge titles on the Gold Coast today.

After two days of battling atrocious conditions at Snapper Rocks and Duranbah Beach, conditions cleaned up moderately for an exciting final day of competition in punchy 2-4ft (1 metre surf) at Duranbah.

In an exciting countdown, D-Bah (29) finished ahead of Snapper Rocks Surfriders (29) and Le-Ba Boardriders (28). D-Bah edged out Snapper on countback after securing six wins from its eight surfers to Snapper’s five. Points are awarded in each heat on a 4-3-2-1 basis with 4 for a win and 1 for a fourth.

The D-Bah Boardriders consisted of Asher Wales, Jack Scollard, Samba Mann, Nick Vasicek, Brent Dorrington, John Cummings, Damon Harvey and Jack Freestone.

With the lead swapping throughout the day, Le-Ba’s Stu Kennedy put his club in front with a commanding win with seven rounds remaining.

The pressure was then on D-Bah’s final surfer, ASP World Junior Champion Jack Freestone to win his heat to ensure D-Bah retained the title. Had he finished second, Snapper’s final surfer Mitch Crews could have snatched the title for his club in the following heat.

Former ASP World Tour competitor Nathan Hedge, surfing for North Narrabeen, tried his best to stop Freestone, but the D-Bah surfer kept his nose in front after taking the lead early in the heat.  Hedge couldn’t find the 7.74 needed for victory and Freestone emerged triumphant from the surf and was chaired up the beach by his jubilant clubmates.

Crew was victorious in the next heat to ensure Snapper secured second place.

Freestone said the hopes of all his mates added to the pressure during his heat.

“If it’s an ASP event or a boardriders event I am still nervous, but I was excited to get out there,” Freestone said.

“It’s awesome to get the win. I’ve got all my mates up there and we’re one big family. To bring it home for them feels pretty amazing.”

D-Bah Boardriders 29 (six wins), Snapper Surfriders 29 (five wins), Le-Ba Boardriders 28 (five wins)

First held in the 1960s as the Kirra Pro Am, the format was changed in 1985 to a team’s format to become Australia’s most prestigious boardriding title.

The Volcom Kirra Teams Challenge is proudly supported by Volcom, Gold Coast City Council, XXXX, Surfing Australia, the Hurley Surfing Australia High Performance Centre, Surfing Queensland, TV4Me, the Australian Government’s Illicit Drugs In Sport (IDIS) program, All State Partners, Rainbow Bay Surf Life Saving Club and Banana Wax.

The Volcom Kirra Teams Challenge supports Hannah’s Chance Foundation.

PREVIOUS WINNERS: 2013 D-Bah Boardriders (Qld), 2012 D-Bah Boardriders (Qld); 2011 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 2010 Werri Boardriders (NSW); 2009 North End Boardriders (Qld); 2008 Kirra Surfriders (Qld); 2007 Lennox-Ballina (NSW); 2006 Byron Bay (NSW); 2005 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 2004 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 2003 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 2002 Byron Bay (NSW); 2001 Angourie (NSW); 2000 Avoca (NSW); 1999 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 1998 Noosa (Qld); 1997 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 1996 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 1995 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 1994 Kirra Surfriders (Qld); 1993 Kirra Surfriders (Qld); 1992 Byron Bay (NSW); 1991 Alley Boardriders (Qld); 1990 Kirra Surfriders (Qld); 1989 Snapper Rocks (Qld); 1988 North Shore (Qld); 1987 Merewether (NSW); 1986 Merewether (NSW); 1985 Kirra Surfriders (Qld).

For regular updates and happenings, become a fan of our Facebook page here.


Jack Freestone is chaired up the beach.

Surfing Australia Newsletter

Got your head in the sand?

Click the link below to view the latest Surfing Australia newsletter online:

» Surfing Australia newsletter
Australian Sports CommissionSubwayVegemiteoriginal sourceNikon
Hurley HPChurleyEdith Cowan Universityfcsais
MilwaukeeoakleyboostConsolidated Propertiesdhd
destination nswMusclePharmch9Everduretv4me