15th Annual Whalebone Classic - Cottesloe WA

Sunday, 15 July 2012

Taylor Jensen (CA/USA) and Georgia Young (WA/AUS) both claimed victory at the ASP 3-Star "Be Kind, Be Calm, Keep Smiling" Whalebone Classic for the second year in a row. The Whalebone Classic, the third and final stop on this year's ASP Australasian Longboard Qualifying Series (LQS), wrapped up today at Cottesloe Beach WA in 2 foot (1 meter) surf.

Reigning ASP World Longboard Champion Jensen made history today after not only winning the Whalebone Classic for the second year in a row, but also making a clean sweep of the 2012 ASP Australasian LQS, winning all three events. It was Jensen's powerful carves and traditional style that saw him finish the 2012 series undefeated.

"The conditions were tough out there today," Jensen said. "With the wind and tide anyone could have taken the win in that Final. I just got lucky I had those two waves at the start of the heat, but I will take the win. It feels great to win here again, I love this event."

Harley Ingleby (AUS), 2009 ASP World Longboard Champion recovered from a slow start to the Final to claim 2nd position ahead of Nic Jones (AUS) and Nick Farago (AUS) who finished 3rd and 4th respectively.

The women's Final was a back and forth battle between the defending champion Young and the Hawaiian Miku Uemura (HAW). Young opened her account with a 6.50 (out of a possible 10) before Uemura replied with an impressive 7.50. Young then backed up with a 5.75 leaving Uemura needing only a 4.75 wave to take the win. The conditions deteriorated and the wave never eventuated for Uemura, giving Young back-to-back Whalebone Classic titles.

"I can't believe I won this event two years in a row," Young said. "With all the international competitors in the event this year this has to be the hardest women's field I have encountered at the Whalebone."
New Zealand's Wini Paul (NZL) and Kirsty Webster (AUS) finished 3rd and 4th after advancing to the Final with some impressive surfing throughout the event.

A minutes silence was held for 24 year old shark attack victim Ben Linden who was killed surfing at Wedge Island yesterday.

ASP Australasia LQS Men's Top 5
1: Taylor Jensen (USA) - 1750
2: Harley Ingleby (AUS) - 1126
3: Nic Jones (AUS) - 949
4: Thomas Kibblewhite (NZL) - 734
5: Jared Neal (AUS) - 647

ASP Australasia LQS Women's Top 5
1: Georgia Young (AUS) - 958
2: Chelsea Williams (AUS) - 750
3: Wini Paul (NZL) - 738
4: Lucy Small (AUS) - 593
5: Nava Young (AUS) - 593
Old Mal:
1st Dane Wilson, 2nd Rahnn Goddard, 3rd Jock Bahen, 4th Daniel Stazina, 5th Mark Matisons,
6th Joe Warwick

Over 60's:
1st Stan Davies, 2nd Norm Bateman, 3rd Errol Casadine, 4th Ian Morris, 5th Gerry Peru,
6th Brian Hood

Over 55's:
1st Chris Fulston, 2nd Simon Hunn, 3rd Mick Cottier, 4th Norm Twight, 5th Peter Stals,
6th Peter Dunn

Over 50's:
1st Paul Taylor, 2nd Raul Braithwaite, 3rd Glen Solomon, 4th James McGee, 5th Lou Corkill,
6th Ian Dobrich

Over 40's:
1st Brett Merrifield, 2nd Jason Weeks, 3rd Adam Le Cornu, 4th Marty Ferrier, 5th Courtney Potter, 6th Russell Bajars

Over 35 Women:
1st Sam Vanderford, 2nd Bronwyn Fricke, 3rd Amanda Battle, 4th Silvi Tomek, 5th Kate Wilkinson,

Under 18 Men:
1st Nick Jones, 2nd Alex Kirk, 3rd Christopher Frayne, 4th Cody Stals, 6th Austin Taylor 6th Sam Henderson

Under 16 Men:
1st Sebastian Evans, 2nd Joesph Anderson, 3rd Robert Line, 4th Oliver Line, 4th Oliver Beards,
5th Evan Ledger

Open Amateur Men:
1st Jamie Willems, 2nd Norm Bateman, 3rd Rohan Henderson, 4th Jarrah Calder, 5th Dan Strazina, 6th Dom Hobnett

Open Amateur Women:
1st Claire Finnucane, 2nd Katharine Brown, 3rd Sarah Caley, 4th Amanda Curley,
5th Jemmima Small
About the Whalebone Classic:

The "Be Kind, Be Calm, Keep Smiling" Whalebone Classic is one of the premier events among the Australian professional longboard community. Staged annually at Iso's Reef at Cottesloe nearly 200 longboard surfers and their supporters are expected to converge for another gathering of the tribes on July 14th & 15th July2012. Now into its fifteenth year, the Whalebone has always attracted some of the Australia's best longboarders.

Location: Cottesloe, WA/AUS
Date: Sat 14-Jul-2012 to Sun 15-Jul-2012
More info - www.whaleboneclassic.com.au

Whalebone Classic Winner: Taylor Jensen from California. G2 Photography

Whalebone Classic Runner Up: Harley Ingleby from Emerald Beach NSW. G2 Photography

3rd Place: Nic Jones from Buderim Qld. G2 Photography

4th Place: Nick Farago from Corimal NSW. G2 Photography

Learn To Surf - Surfing WA
SunSmartHealthwayDepartment of Sport & RecreactionHerbert Smith FreehillsHealth Insurance Fund of Australia
City of StirlingShire of Augusta Margaret RiverCity of BusseltonNOVA 93.7West Coast Suspension