Australian Surfing Awards


About the Australian Surfing Awards

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame were first convened in 1985 by the Australian Surfriders Association (now Surfing Australia) to preserve the history of Australian surfing and honour its great achievers.  Each year the Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame are presented to those who have made a significant contribution to the development of surfing in this country.  The awards include a number of support categories that recognise the broad spectrum of individuals and organisations who are involved in the sport through events, business, media, photography, movies, clubs, travel, administration or pioneering new initiatives.


Surfing Australia invites nominations for the following 2016 categories:

  • Male Surfer of the Year
  • Female Surfer of the Year
  • Rising Star Award
  • Waterman of the Year
  • ASB Surfing Spirit Award
  • Peter Troy Lifestyle Award
  • Surf Culture Award
  • Simon Anderson Club Award

Nikon Surf Movie of the Year / Nikon Surf Photo of the year