The Kaos Surf PRD Cadet Cup and the Open Women's Pro-AM saw a climactic day of competition today as seven new champions were crowned.
Amuro Tsuzuki (Japan) used her Open Women’s Pro-AM campaign as preparation for the upcoming 2018 Port Stephens Toyota Pro World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) competition as she tore apart all the rounds of competition. Tsuzuki came up against some stiff competition in the form of locals Elle Clayton Brown and Jasmine Sampson and Northern Beaches native Lily Macdonald but was able to get the nod thanks to a solid 16.5 two-wave heat total.
Mike Clayton-Brown (Anna Bay, NSW) got the local surfing contingent on their feet, putting on a dominant display of giant backside turns to claim the Under-16 Boys final. Clayton-Brown remained busy over the 20-minute final, catching a handful of long tapered walls which allowed him to unleash a barrage of impressive turns. As a result, the local natural-footer claimed victory with a 16.04 two-wave heat total over fellow event standout Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW) who took the runner-up spot.
The long lefthanders of Birubi played into Charli Hurst’s (Port Kembla, NSW) favour as she took out the top spot in the Under-16 Girls division. Hurst set a high standard in the heat, posting an excellent 8.83 wave score, which allowed her to gain the edge over Jasmine McCorquodale (Bateau Bay, NSW) who finished in the second spot.
Following on from his standout performance yesterday, Winter Vincent (Manly, NSW) put on an impressive display of innovative aerials and turns to take out an exciting Under-14 Boys final ahead of perennial standout Nate Hopkins (Norah Head, NSW). Vincent posted three scores in the excellent scale (eight and above) in the final, to get the nod and add another accomplishment to his already bulging portfolio of event wins.
All other results can be found below.
The Kaos Surf PRD Cadet Cup and the Open Women's Pro-AM events gave amateur women and promising junior stars the opportunity to rub shoulders with some of the biggest names in women’s surfing.
The elite World Surf League (WSL) QS competitions – which will run from the 8 – 13 November – will comprise of Women’s 6,000 and Men’s 1,000 rated divisions and provide the women with a healthy boost of points to finish their 2018 QS campaigns.
The 2018 Port Stephens Toyota Pro couldn’t happen without the support of the NSW Government via its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The entire event will run from November 3 – 13. For more information and a live broadcast head to worldsurfleague.com and check the WSL App.
The 2018 Port Stephens Toyota Pro is also supported by Port Stephens Toyota, Port Stephens Council, AirAsia, Kaos Surf, PRD Nationwide, Wanderers Retreat, The Oasis Eco Retreat, KeySun, Murrays Brewery, Newcastle Airport, Surfing NSW and WSL.Results:

Open Women Pro-Am

1 – Amuro Tsuzuki (Japan)

2 – Elle Clayton-Brown (Anna Bay, NSW)

3 – Jasmine Sampson (Port Stephens, NSW)

4 – Lily Macdonald (Freshwater, NSW)

Under-16 Boys

1 – Mike Clayton-Brown (Anna Bay, NSW)

2 – Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)

3 – Saxon Reber (Manly, NSW)

4 – Sunny Whitby-Otto (Newcastle, NSW)

Under-16 Girls

1 – Charli Hurst (Port Kembla, NSW)

2 – Jasmine Mccorquodale (Bateau Bay, NSW)

3 – Matilda Taylor (Norah Head, NSW)

4 – Lillian Young (Iluka, NSW)

Under-14 Boys

1 – Winter Vincent (Manly, NSW)

2 – Nate Hopkins (Norah Head, NSW)

3 – Xavier Bryce (Manly, NSW)

4 – Zac Tinson (Merewether, NSW)

Under-14 Girls

1 – Cali Barrett (Tweed Heads, NSW)

2 – Bonnie Hills (Coffs Harbour, NSW)

3 – Zahlia Short (Wollongong, NSW)

4 – Holly Wishart (Werri, NSW)

Under-12 Boys

1 – Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater, NSW)

2 – Jake Feher (Matraville, NSW)

3 – Sol Gruendling (Queenscliff, NSW)

4 – Jimmi Hill (Boat Harbour, NSW)

Under-12 Girls

1 – Bodhi Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)

2 – Ruby Rockstar Trew (Seaforth, NSW)

3 – Ocea Curtis (Lennox Head, NSW)

4 – Nina Lawson (Scotts Head, NSW)