The Billabong Oz Grom Cup presented by Flight Centre saw another day of playful beachbreak conditions today as surfers fought through a series of last chance heats in an attempt to make it to day three of the event.

Grayson Hinrichs (Bondi, NSW) stamped his authority on the third round of the 14-and-Under Boys division, nailing the first and only perfect ten-point ride of the event. Hinrichs proceeded to back it up with a massive 9.17 to notch up the highest two wave total of the event so far and make it known he’d be one of the top contenders going into the fourth round. Hinrichs scores were all a byproduct of solid rail turns and innovative snaps that were performed with a mix of speed, power and style.

Lennox Chell (Avoca, NSW) and Jack O’Brien (Lennox Head, NSW) also proved they’d be two surfers to watch, posting heat totals in excess of 16.00 points (out of a possible 20 points) to steamroll through their 14-and-Under Boys round three heats.

10-and-Under Girls competitor Jordy Halford (Currumbin Waters, Qld) dominated her requalification heat (round two) posting a massive 15.5 heat total and as a result cemented her position in the semi-finals where she will face off with Sonia Seuren (Inveloch, Vic) and Shyla Short (Austinmer, NSW) to form a multi-state battle.

Gabe Ley (Tweed Heads, NSW), Ethan Stocks (Coffs Harbour, NSW) and Ross Cadden (Boomerang Beach, NSW) all put on dominant displays of surfing in the 16-and-Under Boys – posting heat totals in excess of 16.00 – to claw their way out of the requalification rounds and make it back into the main draw. The 16 Boys will make their next appearance tomorrow.

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup presented by Flight Centre will commence each day at 7:00 am with the call for the day's schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:20 am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.

The prestigious five-day event – now in its fourth year – will run from the 18th – 22nd April and is catering for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.

Former champions include current World Junior Champion Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event's inaugural year. Since then the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.

Most states are represented with surfers coming from Queensland, NSW, Victoria and WA.

Boys and Girls divisions for the event include Under-8 Mixed, Under-10, Under-12, Under-14 and Under-16.