The opening day of the Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Flight Centre saw a handful of exciting exchanges today as competitors in the 16-and-Under and 14-and-Under divisions were graced with playful three-foot peaks.
Local grommet Ethan Stocks (Coffs Harbour, NSW) showed his knowledge of the punchy Macauleys sandbanks, surfing an excellent heat in the 16 Boys. The lightning-fast natural-footer executed a chain of giant snaps and powerful gouges to lock in an excellent 17.04 two-wave heat total. Stocks posted two waves in excellent range (eight points and above) to leave his opposition chasing two-wave combinations to take away his lead. Stocks will make his next appearance in the third round.
After finishing in third position in the 2017 Billabong Oz Grom Cup, Grayson Hinrichs (Bondi, NSW) showed he had some unfinished business as he attacked the opening round of the 16 Boys. Hinrichs performed an array of frontside and backside snaps to muster up an excellent 8.5 wave score and seal a position into the third round.
Ty Richardson (Palm Beach, Qld) and Lennix Smith (Barrack Point, NSW) went toe-to-toe and blow-for-blow in their 14 Boys round one heat with both surfers notching up a chain of innovative and well-rounded turns. When the 20-minute affair wrapped up, Richardson was able to get the nod thanks to posting a mammoth 15.43 two-wave heat total, while Smith took out the runner-up spot.
Coffs Harbour Boardriders member Carly Shanahan (Wooli, NSW) put on a clinic of impressive turns far beyond her years to post an excellent 8.00 wave score for a variety of frontside snaps. Shanahan then proceeded to back up the wave score with another impressive 7.53 wave, which left her opposition chasing near-perfect scores to take away her lead.
The Billabong Oz Grom Cup will commence each day at 7:30 am with the call for the day's schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45 am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.
The prestigious five-day event – now in its fifth year – will run from the 13th – 17th April and looks set to cater for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.
Former champions include 2016 World Junior Champion Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event's inaugural year. Since then the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.
Most states will be represented when the event kicks off, with surfers coming from Queensland, NSW and Victoria.
Boys and Girls divisions for the event include: Under-8 Mixed, Under-10, Under-12, Under-14 and Under-16.