The sixth and final day of the Port Stephens Surf Festival saw a huge day of longboard and SUP action as the event crowned a range of different champions across a wide array of divisions.
Max Weston (Avalon) fought a tight battle with Frank Murphy (Yamba) to claim the Open Men’s longboard title. Weston put on an impressive display of traditional and exciting frontside turns to post a respectable 14.6 heat total and claim the win ahead of Murphy by less than half a point. All finalists have earned themselves a spot into the NSW Team for the Australian Surf Festival.
Former Australian Champion Tully White (Allambie Heights) added another prestigious accomplishment to her portfolio taking out the Open Women’s division. White posted two impressive heat totals in excess of 16.00 to gain the upper hand against her opponents and take the top spot on the dais.
Following in the footsteps of his world-renowned longboarder brother Dane Pioli, Jayce Pioli (Milton) put on a thrilling display of traditional longboarding to take out the Open Men’s Logger title. Pioli put on a healthy display of style and flow to notch up a 15.1 two-wave heat total and take out the win ahead of Open Men’s champion Max Weston (Avalon) who took out the runner-up spot.
In the racing divisions of the ECS Boards SUP State Titles, Ty Jusdon (Boomerang Beach) and James Casey (Collaroy) claimed one win and a runner-up each with Judson taking out the Marathon race while Casey took top honours in the Technical race. Both SUP riders went neck-and-neck over the two races with only three minutes separating the two in the Marathon and less than a second in the technical. 
Terrene Black (North Entrance) took a clean sweep of victories across the Marathon and Technical race divisions. The accomplished racer put on a valiant display over the two races, finishing the Marathon in one hour 46minutes and 58 seconds and wrapping up the Technical race in 36 minutes and 38 seconds.
All results from both the ECS Boards SUP State Titles and the Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles can be found below.
The Port Stephens Surf Festival comprises of the 2018 ECS Boards SUP State Titles and the 2018 Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles pres. by HIF and decided the NSW Teams for the upcoming Australian SUP Titles in Currumbin and the Australian Longboard Titles at Tweed Heads.
The Port Stephens Surf Festival is proudly supported by Australian Skin Cancer Clinics, ECS Boards, Port Stephens Council, Oasis Wellness Center, AirAsia, H2Coco, Toyota, Mothernest, NBN, and Surfing NSW.

Australian Skin Cancer Clinics NSW Longboard Titles

Open Men 

1 – Max Weston (Avalon)

2 – Frank Murphy (Yamba)

3 – Jared Neal (Arrawarra)

4 – Matt Mulder (Kurnell)

Open Women

1 – Tully White (Allambie Heights)

2 – Samantha Walker (Queenscliff)

3 – Kristal Gerbach (Boganar)

Open Logs

1 – Jayce Pioli (Milton)

2 – Max Weston (Avalon)

3 – Jared Neal (Arrawarra)

4 – Matt Mulder (Kurnell)

Junior Logger

1 – Sam Ticknor (Evans Heads)

2 – Dylan Kelly (Barrack Heights)

3 – Mike Clayton-Brown (Nelson Bay)


Junior Women

1 – Blaze Roberts (Avalon)

2 – Ava Robertson (Cooks Hill)

2018 ECS Boards SUP State Titles Race Results


Open Men

1 - Ty Judson (Boomerang) - 1.27.49

2 - James Casey (Collaroy) - 1.30 30

3 - Nathan Cross (Woollamia) - 1.31.51

4 - Harrison Maskell (Wamberal) 1.33.47


Open Women

1 - Terrene Black (The Entrance) 1.46.58

2 - Vanessa Smith (Terrigal)

3 - Skyla Rayner (Berrara)


O40 Men

1- Evan Green (Narrabeen)

2 - Oliver Darkes (Balgowlah)

3 - Rohan Evans (Mollymook)

4 - Matthew Scott (Bungendore)


O40 Women

1 - Tammy Montgomery (Eloura Heights)

2 - Traci Dostalek (Neutral Bay)

3 - Denise Kane (Toowoon Bay)

4 - Melissa Cedland (Elebana)




1- Mike Hayes (Castle Cove)

2 - Glenn Cochran (Macmasters)

3 - Chris Cross (Newport)

4 - Brett Jones (Blackwall)


Junior Men

1 - Clayton Kane (Toowoon Bay)


Technical Race:


1 - James Casey (Collaroy) 31.53

2 - Ty Judson (Boomerang) 31.53

3 - Harry Maskell (Wamberal) 32.36

4 - Nathan Cross (Woollamia) 34.1


1 - Terrene Black (The Entrance) 36.38

2 - Hannah Finlay Jones (Merewether)

3 - Skyla Rayner (Berrara)



1 - Evan Green (Narrabeen)

2 - Rohan Evans (Mollymook)

3 - Mat Montgomery (Eloura Heights)


1 - Melissa Cedland (Elebana)

2 - Lisa Cross (Woollamia)

3 - Madeline Rayner (Berrara)

4 - Denise Kane (Toowoon Bay)


1 - Clayton Kane (Toowoon Bay)

2 - Josh Stretton (Anna Bay)


1 - Glenn Cochran (Macmasters)

2 - Robert Scott (Narrawallee)

3 - Richard Finlay Jones (Merewether)

4 - Craig Feenan (Cameron Park)