The 2017 Woolworths NSW State Junior Surfing Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth saw a day of high scores and upsets as several top seeds were eliminated from the event.
After posting the highest wave score of the event in the first round of the Under-18 Boys, Callum Robson (Evans Head) unfortunately struggled to find the same form as he went into the fourth round of competition. Despite only needing a 1.4 scoring wave to move into the runner-up position, Robson opted to go for a hail mary aerial that was deemed to be incomplete by the judges and as a result fell marginally short of Boston Phillips (Sawtell) and Aidan Lewand-Parsons (Ulladulla) who claimed first and second respectively.

Highest event heat total holder Nathan Rohr (Cronulla) was also eliminated from the event in the fifth round of competition following a tightly contested battle with Central Coast surfer Kurtis Vaughan (Bateau Bay) and Jackson Roberts (Bateau Bay) and Tas Grainger (Collaroy). 
2016 Under-16 Boys NSW Champion Jay Brown (Cronulla) showed he was more than capable of mixing it in the older division, posting a giant 16.67 two-wave heat total to seal himself a spot in the man-on-man quarterfinals. Brown sussed out a variety of punchy lefthanders in the predominate righthand beachbreak to lock-in two excellent wave scores in excess of 8.00 points. Brown will face Central Coast powerhouse Jackson Roberts in the quarters.
Nyxie Ryan (Lennox Head) continued to build on her highlight reel worthy performance, posting an impressive 16.66 two-wave heat total to take a win in the third round of the Under-16 Girls. Ryan will meet Elle Clayton-Brown (Corlette) when the event resumes tomorrow. 

The prestigious seven-day event will run from Friday 14th – Thursday 20th July, 2017 and determine the qualifiers for the Havaianas NSW Junior Team for the 2017 Surf Dive N Ski Australian Junior Titles.
All qualifiers for the Woolworths NSW State Junior Surfing Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth were determined by eight individual regional titles, which took place up and down the NSW coastline earlier in 2017.

Former competitors in the Woolworths NSW State Junior Surfing Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth include current World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) surfers Owen and Tyler Wright, Matt Banting, Stuart Kennedy, Sally Fitzgibbons, Laura Enever, Ryan Callinan and Connor O'Leary.
The last two days of the event will comprise of the NSW School Surfing Titles.

2017 will be the seventh year Surfing NSW will combine the NSW School Surfing Titles into the event.
The event will be fully mobile in the Port Macquarie area with Town Beach, Flynns Beach, Light House Beach, Rainbow Beach (Bonny Hills) and North Haven Beach all venue options.

The daily schedule and location will be confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45am each day. The event hotline is 0458 247 212.
Future Australian surfing champions will receive further help to ride the wave to success, with Woolworths expanding its commitment to the sport to include Surfing Australia’s six affiliated State branches Woolworths State Junior Surfing Titles, with 18 events to be run nationally across 6 States in 2017/18.
At each event, Woolworths will connect its store teams with the sport and celebrate the next generation of champions in local communities in each state.
The Woolworths NSW State Junior Surfing Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth is proudly supported by Woolworths, Ocean and Earth, HIF, Australian Skin Cancer Clinics, Port Macquarie-Hastings Council, Big4 Bonny Hills Holiday Park, NBN, Toyota, Mothernest, Havaianas, Ohana Ocean Athletics and Surfing NSW.