After remaining on hold for the majority of the morning due to lacklustre conditions, the Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Flight Centre resumed later in the day and was met with impressive performances from some of surfing's future stars. 
Jackson Dorian (Hawaii) showed a similar competitive nous previously seen by his Dad, big wave icon Shane Dorian, as he tore apart his 12-and-Under Boys round three heat. Dorian played a patient game as he waited for two of the best waves seen all heat. He then executed an array of impressive frontside snaps to post a near-perfect 9.17 wave score, the highest of the event so far. Dorian will meet Harley Walters (Angourie, NSW), Isaak Brown (Lake Munmorah, NSW) and Levi Woods (Emerald Beach, NSW) in the quarterfinals.
Willis Droomer (Jan Juc, Vic) continued his highlight reel performance as he smashed apart his 12 Boys round three heat. Droomer managed to unleash a chain of mammoth turns over steep sections to post an 8.53 scoring wave and gain a victory over fellow event standout Harley Walters (Angourie, NSW) who claimed the runner-up spot.
Surfing in the 10-and-Under Boys division, Will Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW) performed well beyond his years, posting a notable 15.5 (out of a possible 20 points) to put his opposition on the ropes. As a result, Martin cemented his spot into the final where he’ll meet Ocean Lancaster (Merewether, NSW), Mitchell Peterson (Noosaville, Qld) and Taj Air (Thirroul, NSW).
Sister duo Shyla and Zahlia Short (Austinmer, NSW) both made headline performances as they went full-throttle in their campaign to win titles in the 12-and-Under Girls. Both surfers managed to move through their semi-final side-by-side after locking in heat totals in excess of 12.00 points to earn a position in the finals. Both sisters will meet Willow Hardy (Margaret River, WA) and Amarnie Barber (Noosa Heads, Qld) in the final.

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup will commence each day at 7:30 am with the call for the day's schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45 am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.
The prestigious five-day event – now in its fifth year – will run from the 13th – 17th April and looks set to cater for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.
Former champions include 2016 World Junior Champion Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event's inaugural year. Since then the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.
Most states will be represented when the event kicks off, with surfers coming from Queensland, NSW and Victoria.
Boys and Girls divisions for the event include: Under-8 Mixed, Under-10, Under-12, Under-14 and Under-16.