Conditions decreased for the second day of the Billabong Oz Grom Cup pres. by Flight Centre as the younger divisions got their opportunity to shine.
After seeing his older brother Dakoda take out the 16 Boys division in 2017, Harley Walters (Angourie, NSW) showed he was keen to match the result notching up a giant 15.56 two-wave heat total in the 12 Boys. Walters came up against tough opposition in the form of Jack Mcdonald (Freshwater, NSW) who posted a near perfect 9.00 score, the highest wave score of the event so far and claimed the runner-up spot behind Walters. Both surfers will make their next appearance in the third round.
Following Walter’s and Macdonald stellar performance, Willis Droomer (Jan Juc, Vic) proceeded to make his presence felt in the following 12 Boys heat, notching up a giant 16.43 two-wave total for a variety of stellar turns. Droomer will join both Macdonald and Walters in round three.
Amarnie Barber (Noosa Heads, Qld) showed she was one of the dominant performers in the 12 Girls division, posting a respectable 13.93 heat total. She was joined in the round one winner's circle by Zahlia and Shyla Short (Austinmer, NSW) as well as Jada Thomas (Barrack Point, NSW) who all posted respective heat wins.
Mitchell Peterson (Noosaville, Qld), Ocean Lancaster (Merewether, NSW), Taj Air (Thirroul, NSW), Noah Nielson (North Boambee Valley, NSW) and Will Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW) were all victorious in the first round of the 10-and-Under Boys division. 

The Billabong Oz Grom Cup will commence each day at 7:30 am with the call for the day's schedule and location confirmed via the event hotline at 6:45 am. The event hotline number is 0458 247 212 which will leave a voice recorded message each morning of the event.
The prestigious five-day event – now in its fifth year – will run from the 13th – 17th April and looks set to cater for over 200 competitors in nine different divisions.
Former champions include 2016 World Junior Champion Macy Callaghan who claimed her respective division in the event's inaugural year. Since then the event has been won by a range of Australia’s best and most promising junior surfers.
Most states will be represented when the event kicks off, with surfers coming from Queensland, NSW and Victoria.
Boys and Girls divisions for the event include: Under-8 Mixed, Under-10, Under-12, Under-14 and Under-16.