Stage Set for the 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP Titles Presented by SAE Group to Kick Off this Friday on the Gold Coast

Australia’s best stand up paddle boarders will congregate on the Gold Coast this Friday for the 5-day 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP Titles presented by SAE group, to be held in Currumbin.

The event will kick off on Friday the 9th November with an opening ceremony and will run through to Tuesday the 13th. The event will see 25 national champions crowned across divisions including SUP surfing, technical racing and marathon racing. Defending champions New South Wales will be looking to go back-to-back after winning the overall victory last year, closely followed by Queensland.

Defending open women’s champion Shakira Westdorp (Tugun, QLD) will be looking to requalify for the World Championships again this year.

“I’m feeling good, I’ve been using a new board and it’s always great to meet up with everyone, we always have a good time. I’ve been doing a lot of paddle training, as I received a last minute call up to compete for a world title in paddle racing. I’m feeling strong and healthy, and I’m looking forward to it,” said Westdorp.

2017 Blue Ribbon Open Men’s division runner-up Harry Maskell (NSW) will be searching for redemption this year, aiming for a first-place finish.

“I’m pretty confident, I’m really hoping for some good waves,” said Maskell. “I’ve got a similar training routine to last year, I’ve been keeping it simple and surfing heaps.”     

The 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP Titles presented by SAE group provides the exclusive pathway to the International Surfing Association’s (ISA) 2019 ISA World SUP & Paddleboard Championships.

Event Schedule:

·      Friday 9th: Opening ceremony and meetings (all competitors, team managers and judges to attend).

·      Saturday 10th - Monday 12th: Competition period for all SUP surfing divisions/competition period for all SUP and prone technical racing divisions.

·      Tuesday 13th: Competition period for all SUP and prone marathon racing divisions (20km), community marathon racing (20km) divisions.

The 2018 Hyundai Australian SUP titles presented by SAE Group is proudly supported by Hyundai, Gold Coast City Council, SAE Group, Hydralyte Sports, Currumbin RSL, 2XP, Air Asia, The International Surfing Association (ISA), Surfing Queensland and Surfing Australia.