Rip Curl Grom Search 2018 wraps up in pumping surf

Yorkes, SA (Sunday 28th October 2018) - Six new champions have been crowned at the forth stop of the Rip Curl GromSearch Series presented by Flight Centre today in South Australia.


Yorkes delivered outstanding waves allowing for the country’s best junior surfers to show their wares and compete for the coveted Rip Curl Grom Search Titles. Over 60 interstate surfers travelled to SA to join local grom’s and battle it out. 


Jamie Thompson (NSW) was in great form all event and claimed victory in the 16 & Under Boys final. Using a mix of innovative and powerful surfing he took out his second Grom Search Title for the year.

Jamie took on three of the best surfers of the event, Benny Wilson (NSW), Jed Gradisen  (WA) and local surfer Digby Tooze (SA) in what was a hotly contested affair.

 “I’m really stoked to have won, I love coming to Yorkes it’s such a great place and always delivers fantastic surf,” said Thompson. “Thanks to Surfing SA for putting on a great event.”


The 16 and Under Girls division went to Arabella Wilson (VIC) who was on form all weekend.  Arabella took on some quality opposition defeating Lilly Macdonald (NSW), Jazz Wylie (VIC) and Mackenzie Davidson (NSW).

 “This is a great result for me,” said Wilson. “I just want to say thanks all the girls in the final and all my friends and family for their support.”


Winter Vincent (NSW) shone in the 14 & Under Boys dominating all heats including the final. One of the event standouts, Winter showed that he is one to watch in the future surfing way beyond his years. He took on Lennix Smith (NSW), Charlie Mahoney (VIC) and Dom Thomas (NSW) and despite their best efforts Vincent was unstoppable.


Poppy Corbett (VIC) took the  the win in the 14 & Under Girls final with a great display of surfing taking out rivals Jazz Wylie (VIC), Cedar Leigh-Jones (NSW) and Lucy Tandler (QLD).


The 12 & Under Boys went to young shredder Fletcher Kelleher (NSW) beating Jack Macdonald (NSW), Dane Dujic (NSW) and Jerry Kelly (VIC)


Sarsha Pancic (VIC) took the 12 & Under Girls with local favourite Maia Taite (SA) placing second leaving Sarah Hickson (VIC) and Leila Salt (NSW) in 3rd and 4th respectively.  


Winter Vincent and Jazz Wiley received the  Flight Centre‘Outstanding Performance Awards’ for their amazing surfing throughout the event.


Flight Centre Rising Star awards went to young Maia Taite and Jack Macdonald who showed that they will be forces to recon with in the future.


Best local surfer awards went to King Cairns who absolutely ripped all event and was a standout on the ledge in the free surfs and local star Digby Tooze who was another standout at this years competition.


After events in Victoria, New South Wales, Western Australia and South Australia the Rip Curl GromSearch continues next on the Sunshine Coast, QLD. 


2018 marks the Rip Curl GromSearch's 20th anniversary, making it one of the longest junior surfing series on the world. Over the years it has become a crucial stepping-stone in the development of junior surfers across the planet.


The list of previous GromSearch winners illustrates the significant history of the series, with World Surf League (WSL) competitors Gabriel Medina (Brazil), Tyler Wright (Australia), Owen Wright (Australia), Matt Wilkinson (Australia), Jordy Smith (South Africa), Kolohe Andino (USA) and Sally Fitzgibbons (Australia) among the list of former competitors and GromSearch International Final Champions.


After the last event in Queensland, the top-ranked surfers qualify for the Rip Curl GromSearch National Final (in their respective divisions), where they then compete for the chance to become the Australian GromSearch Champion. The National Champion then represents Australia at the Rip Curl GromSearch International Final, held at a new location around the globe each year, against the best junior surfers in each participating country.





16 & Under Boys:

1 – Jamie Thompson (NSW) 

2 – Benny Wilson (NSW) 

3 – Jed Gradisen (WA)

4 – Digby Tooze ( SA) 


16 & Under Girls:

1 – Arabella Wilson (VIC) 

2 – Lily Macdonald (NSW) 

3 – Jazz Wylie (VIC) 

4 – Mackenzie Davidson (NSW) 



14 & Under Boys:

1 – Winter Vincent (NSW)

2 –  Lennix Smith(NSW)

3 –  Charlie Mahoney(VIC)

4 – Dom Thomas (NSW)


14 & Under Girls:

1 – Poppy Corbett(VIC)

2 – Jazz Wylie(VIC)

3 – Cedar Leigh Jones (NSW)

4 – Lucy Tandler (QLD)


12 & Under Boys:

1 –  Fletcher Kelleher(NSW)

2 –  Jack MacDonald(NSW)

3 –  Dane Dujic(NSW)

4 – Jerry Kelly(VIC)


12 & Under Girls:

1 – Sarsha Pancic (VIC)

2 –  Maia Taite(SA)

3 – Sarah Hickson(VIC)

4 –  Leila Salt (NSW)


Dates and locations for the 2018/19 GromSearch Series are:

EVENT 1 – Jan Juc, VIC - Sept 22 – 24, 2018

EVENT 2 – Newcastle, NSW - Sept 29 – Oct 2, 2018

EVENT 3 – Perth, WA - Oct 5 – 7, 2018

EVENT 4 – Yorke Peninsula, SA - Oct 27 – 28, 2018

EVENT 5 – Sunshine Coast, QLD - Dec 14 – 18, 2018


The 2018 Rip Curl GromSearch series is presented by FLIGHT CENTRE, and proudly supported by Surfing Australia and Surfing SA.


About the Rip Curl GromSearch:

The Rip Curl GromSearch series has been a great stepping stone for the recent champions of our sport. Former International GromSearch competitors who are currently competing on the WSL Championship Tour include: Gabriel Medina, Owen Wright, Jordy Smith, Kolohe Andino, Felipe Toledo, Steph Gilmore, Sally Fitzgibbons, Tyler Wright, Malia Manuel, Laura Enever and Alana Blanchard. More information at