Quiksilver Roxy East Coast Open Classic-presented by East Coast Surf.

The East Coast Classic started under a cloud of uncertainty about just what the day was going to offer competitors in the first round of the HIF Open State Champion ships at Scamander at 7am today. Surfing Tasmania and North East Boardriders scouts and set up crew faced what was forecast to be a dying ne swell, sw wind with a change in the weather later in the afternoon. However, by 9am after event had begun at Shelley Point... on the nice bank down the beach the swell kicked as the tide began to drop, the wind dropped totally and the waves pumped for the rest of the event. Former STAS President Tank Gray called it the best comp on the East Coast in 20 years! Everyone else agreed. One to one point five metre lefts and rights poured through with heats bagging big numbers of rides. Certainly the huge storm that ripped through just after we left the beach made it one to remember. Perfect timing and great organisation !!!.Congratulations to the surfers who absolutely enjoyed the great conditions on offer. Many thanks to local sponsor East Coast Surf Shop for their great support. Thanks to NE Boardriders for hosting the event and providing 5 star catering for judges/officials and to Level 3 Head Judge Mike Schmidt for managing the team of volunteer judges for the day. Finally thanks to Tom Gray and Ned Bramich as Event Directors.
Additional thanks to photographer Paul Campbell who travelled from Wynyard to spend the entire day shooting the surf action. His pics will appear here from tomorrow through the week. The next event is the popular Bruny Island Junior and Open Longboard next month. Check STAS website next week for details
Open Men: 1. Hamish Renwick 2. Rudy Davis, 3. Tom Gray
Open Women: 1.Bella Goward 2.Luca Brodribb 3. Ellen Redden
U21 Men:1Rudy Davis 2.Liam Viney 3. Shae Cadle
U21 Girls:Bella Goward 2. Luca Brodribb 3. Stella Gibson
O30:Damon Hodge 2.Shane Hodge 3.Marty Viney
O40: 1.Damon Hodge 2. Marty Viney 3. Angus Bryant
O50: 1. Scott Weinreich 2. Mick Miller
Shayne Clark
Executive Officer.