Woolamai Beach turned on some great weather and fantastic waves for the 35th Annual Phillip Island Kneeboard Pro, held on 16th and 17th of March.

This is round 1 of the Australian Kneeboard Title, and all of the best Kneelo’s from Australia were in attendance , along with some overseas surfers.

A field of 60 kicked off Saturday morning at “classic” Woolamai. 4 foot lefts and rights, along with strong rips greeted the competitors.  All of the top seeds got through round 1 and 2, but by round 3 any of the remaining 16 were good enough to make the final, but that meant that some very good surfers would miss out.

Those knocked out in the quarter finals included James Anderson, Baden Smith, Stan Kofoed, Pete, McLure, Nick Hartigan, Greg Budgen, Mark McLeod, and last years winner , Pete Fairweather.

The final 8 were set to surf first light on Sunday morning.    3-4 foot glassy waves with no wind, perfect conditions to watch the best.

Semi 1 saw Chayne Simpson and Chris Carey progress through to the final, knocking out Tim Kadwell and Wayne Jennings.    Semi 2 and it was Gavin Colman and Paul O’Neill getting through over Albert Munoz and Jamie McHugh.

Spectators had been treated to some fine surfing, and there was still all the finals to come.

The Open final was a ripper.   Chayne was fluent and smooth, Chris was power, Gav was Gav, anything can happen, and paul was flowing down the line with some great cutbacks.

By the smallest of margins, Chayne was victorious over Chris Carey.   Gav came in third, and Paul O’Neill fourth.

A Grade was another great final and it was between a couple of youngsters against a couple of older chargers. The final was taken out by Andrew Barnes, from 13 year old Owen Fairweather,   Peter Gorton in third place an 17 yo Noah Bateup in fourth.

B Grade winner was John Cullen, from Paul Wright. Bob McDonald in third, Laura Brown in fourth and Paul O’Loughlin fifth.

Womens was won by Donna Jennings from Laura Brown in  second place.

Junior Winner was Noah Bateup, and Cadets Winner was Owen Fairweather.

Chayne Simpson won best manoeuvre. Chris Carey was awarded the highly valued Joseph Rosenbrock memorial award.  Inner Grom trophy was awarded to Brad Colwell from San Diego.

And the two , “missed by that much “trophies went to Pat Langlands and Smurf Jennings.

Raffle winners  were

Island surfboards DNO  pintail     John Cullen

Island Surfboards DNO swallow  Rosey

San Juan single fin   Ryan Gallagher

Cove pads Full Deck Pad.    Andrew Barnes

Cove Pads rail Grip Kits x 2 Kev Ross,      Kenny Stapleton and JD

KSUSA t Shirt   Kev Ross.


Another great contest, and Many Thanks to our terrific supporters

ISLAND SURFBOARDS      35 years of support



HANALEI Fins,  COVE Pads USA,  KNEEON Kneeboards,   PARKES  Kneeboards,



A Huge thank you to Rosey, Adrian, Max, Pal, Jarvis, Jill and Charlie for all the work over the weekend.


Next years event, The 36th annual Phillip Island Kneeboard Pro,  will be held on the same weekend,  14th and 15 of March,     One week after the World Titles in Dunedin New Zealand, so call in on your way home from NZ,  for the worlds longest running kneeboard surfing competition.  


Next Events on the Australian calendar are the round 2 competition on

WEDNESDAY JUNE 12th at Boomerang Beach NSW.

And the final round at Newcastle 5th & 6th October.