25 of Western Australia’s best junior surfers have been named to represent the state and tackle the country's leading talent on the New South Wales south coast for the 2017 Surf Dive 'n Ski Australian Junior Surfing Titles.

After a hotly contested three-event state title series, along with huge numbers of students competing in the SunSmart School Surfing Titles in recent months, the 2017 WA Junior Team Surf Team has been finalised.

A total of 25 boys and girls will travel to the wave-rich Culburra Beach region, which is home to current World Surf League (WSL) Women's World Champion Tyler Wright and her family.

In an exciting mix of competition experience and youthful exuberance, the WA Junior Surfing Team boasts representatives from right across the state, showcasing the depth of talent and strength of the sport across Western Australia. 

South-West surfers feature predominately in this years team, with a total of 18 surfers hailing from either Yallingup, Gracetown or Margaret River. The remainder of the team is made up of surfers from with the Peel, Mid-West and Great Southern regions.

After capturing two individual National Titles and two school teams Titles last year in Phillip Island, WA is out to match or better those results in NSW in November.

In a competitive season that has provided a few upset and a few surprises along the way, Surfing WA Development Manager Tom Dickson is excited to confirm the team and announce a series of training camps aimed at improving WA surfers performances on the national stage.

"To help our team best prepare for arguably the biggest event of the year, Surfing WA will be holding two high performance training camps," said Dickson. "The camps will primarily focus on fine tuning the athletes training schedule to best prepare them for all aspects of elite competition. They also serve as great opportunity to come together and galvanise everyone into a strong team environment, something we have always been proud of as West Australian's."

State Team Coaches Mike McAuliffe, Luke Campbell and a host of other level 2 high performance coaches will be attending the camps and providing valuable insight and technical feedback to the surfers.

"The training camps will allow the kids to build their strength, flexibility and fitness prior to National Titles," said multiple National Title winner Mike McAuliffe  "We'll be focusing the team on the waves the can expect to surf, their equipment and providing them with the optimum preparation over the next month."

A win at the national level is regarded as a major step in a surfers competitive career with the list of past winners featuring some of the greatest names in world surfing including WSL Men’s World Champions Joel Parkinson and Mick Fanning, plus former World Champions Mark Richards, Tom Carroll and Damian Hardman.

Six-time WSL Women’s World Champion Stephanie Gilmore, and current WSL World Tour surfers Tyler Wright and Sally Fitzgibbons are also included on the prestigious honour roll.

The team will travel depart Perth for NSW in late November with the 2017 Australian Junior Surfing Titles commencing on Saturday 28th November and running through to Saturday 2nd December in and around the Culburra Beach region.

For more information on all junior surfing events in WA best sure to check out www.surfingwa.com.au


Under 18 Junior Boys:
Jack Haslau (Margaret River)
Josh Cattlin (Yallingup)
Ben Gradisen (Gracetown)
Cyrus Cox (Margaret River)

Under 18 Junior Girls:
Evie Dupuy (Albany)
Pemba Spargo (Albany)
Jamaica Selby (Margaret River)
Taiana Duncan (Kalbarri)

Under 16 Cadet Boys:
Seth Van Haeften (Margaret River)
Jed Gradisen (Gracetown)
Finn Cox (Margaret River)
Josh Stanton (Geraldton)

Under 16 Cadet Girls:
Emma Cattlin (Yallingup)
Coral Durant (Carnarvon)
Arrabelle Gibson (Margaret River)

Under 14 Grommet Boys:
Solomon Pogue-Englert (Gracetown)
Danny Benedetti (Margaret River)
George Simpson (Gracetown)
Brock Launders (Margaret River)

Under 14 Grommet Girls:
Zali Hewson (Margaret River)
Willow Hardy (Margaret River)
Lilli Cox (Margaret River)

Under 19 Boys Allstars:
Ben Gradisen (Margaret River)
Josh Cattlin (Yallingup)
Under 19 Girls Allstars:
Jamaica Selby (Margaret River)
Evie Dupuy (Albany)
Under 16 Boys Allstars:
Finn Cox (Margaret River)
Josh Stanton (Geraldton)

Under 16 Girls Allstars:
Emma Cattlin (Yallingup)
Coral Durant (Carnarvon)

Under 19 Boys MR Teams:
Margaret River SHS
Jack Haslau
Cyrus Cox

Under 19 Girls MR Team:
Mandurah Catholic College
April McPherson
Ruby Allen

Under 16 Boys MR Teams:
Margaret River SHS
Seth Van Haeften
Jed Gradisen

Under 16 Girls MR Team:
Margaret River SHS
Maddie Cawood
Arrabelle Gibson